Cafta Agreement Countries

The Dominican Republic-Central America-United States Free Trade Agreement (CAFTA-DR FTA) entered into force in 2006 for the United States, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua, the Dominican Republic in 2007 and Costa Rica in 2009. As a result of the free trade agreement, 100% of U.S. exports of consumer and industrial goods to CAFTA-DR countries will no longer be subject to tariffs. Tariffs on almost all U.S. agricultural products will expire by 2020. In order to benefit from duty-free treatment under the Free Trade Agreement, products must comply with the applicable rules of origin. Costa Rica held a referendum to allow its citizens to choose to approve the D.R.-CAFTA. On 7 October 2007, Costa Ricans voted in favour of the agreement. On 30 September 2008, the CAFTA-DR countries agreed to extend until 1 January 2009 the deadline for the implementation of the Agreement for Costa Rica, in accordance with Article 22.5.2. On 14 November 2008, Costa Rica approved the final draft law on the implementation of CAFTA-DR. – CAFTA) states that “each party shall ensure that its laws and policies provide for and promote a high level of environmental protection and shall strive to further improve such laws and policies”.

The agreement provides for the establishment of an Environmental Affairs Council (CSCE) which oversees implementation and reviews progress under this Chapter.

Comments are closed.